Album cover for Nainita Desai's Body Parts soundtrack

The original film soundtrack album by composer Nainita Desai for Body Parts.

Innovative and incisive, Body Parts explores the evolution of desire and “sex” on-screen from a woman’s perspective. Demystifying the often invisible processes in creating intimacy for film and television, the documentary sheds light on the most closely-guarded secrets of an industry now at a crossroads.

Body Parts features candid interviews with actors and creators who are advocating for real change, including Jane Fonda, Joey Soloway, Angela Robinson, Karyn Kusama, Rose McGowan, Rosanna Arquette, Alexandra Billings, Stacy Rukeyser, Emily Meade, David Simon, and Tanya Saracho. Deftly illustrated with movie clips stretching back to Eadweard Muybridge’s motion studies, Body Parts is part film-history lesson on the dominance of the heterosexual male gaze and part clarion call for employing intimacy coordinators across the entertainment field. It neither shies away from uncomfortable conversations nor ignores image-makers trying to set a higher, more inclusive bar on set and on screen.


Mastering by John Elleson-Hartley.

Body Parts by Nainita Desai

More from Nainita Desai.

Composer Nainita Desai