Note of Defiance cover artwork. Music by Oleta Haffner.

Note of Defiance is scored by composer Oleta Haffner.

About the film:

Filmed in early 2023, on the Ukrainian-Russian border, this short documentary explores two artists’ use of their creativity and art as a means of cultural survival and defiance. In Kharkiv, Ukraine; attacks on civilian centres have forced cultural sites to close. The Kharkiv State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre is one of the biggest cultural sites in the city forced to close due to these attacks. Two inspiring artists move continue to provide concerts and lessons anywhere they can; from parking garages to bomb shelters. Through powerful interviews, we learn of the unique challenges artists have faced during this conflict. From censorship and persecution, to displacement and trauma. The film concludes with emotional performance, where two disciplines of violin and dance are brought together in the theatre for the first time in nearly a year.


Mixing by John Elleson-Hartley.

More Mixing & Mastering Credits